Copyright © 2024

The work of Euromaidan Press is supported by the International Renaissance Foundation

When referencing our materials, please include an active hyperlink to the Euromaidan Press material and a maximum 500-character extract of the story. To reprint anything longer, written permission must be acquired from [email protected].

Privacy and Cookie Policies.

Japan imposes more sanctions on Russia for annexation of Ukraine’s regions

Japan imposes more sanctions on Russia for annexation of Ukraine’s regions

Japan’s Cabinet of Ministers has agreed to impose new sanctions on Russia in the wake of Moscow’s move to annex four regions in Ukraine, NHK World Japan reports. The asset freezing will be applied to a total of 81 people and nine organizations.

Among those sanctioned are Russian-installed heads of the occupation administrations of the four regions, Russia’s senior government officials, and military-related organizations.

Deputy Chief Cabinet Secretary Kihara Seiji later told reporters that Japan strongly condemns the moves that Russia calls “referendums” and “incorporation, adding that his country cannot condone Russia’s attempts to unilaterally change the status quo.

You could close this page. Or you could join our community and help us produce more materials like this.  We keep our reporting open and accessible to everyone because we believe in the power of free information. This is why our small, cost-effective team depends on the support of readers like you to bring deliver timely news, quality analysis, and on-the-ground reports about Russia's war against Ukraine and Ukraine's struggle to build a democratic society. A little bit goes a long way: for as little as the cost of one cup of coffee a month, you can help build bridges between Ukraine and the rest of the world, plus become a co-creator and vote for topics we should cover next. Become a patron or see other ways to support. Become a Patron!

To suggest a correction or clarification, write to us here

You can also highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter

Please leave your suggestions or corrections here

    Euromaidan Press

    We are an independent media outlet that relies solely on advertising revenue to sustain itself. We do not endorse or promote any products or services for financial gain. Therefore, we kindly ask for your support by disabling your ad blocker. Your assistance helps us continue providing quality content. Thank you!

    Related Posts