Copyright © 2021

The work of Euromaidan Press is supported by the International Renaissance Foundation

When referencing our materials, please include an active hyperlink to the Euromaidan Press material and a maximum 500-character extract of the story. To reprint anything longer, written permission must be acquired from [email protected].

Privacy and Cookie Policies.

Australia imposes sanctions on 21 Russian entities, including Rosneft

On 19 May, Prime Minister of Australia Anthony Albanese and Foreign Minister Penny Wong announced new sanctions and an export ban, targeting sectors of economic significance to Russia ahead of the G7 Summit.

The new financial sanctions will target 21 entities and three individuals, including a Russian illegal entity created to take over Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant, the oil giant Rosneft, the gold company Polyus PJSC, and five banks.

The country will also ban the export of all machinery and related parts to Russia “to slow its war machine.”

“Australia again calls on Russia to cease its illegal and immoral war against the people of Ukraine,” the prime minister stressed.



You could close this page. Or you could join our community and help us produce more materials like this.  We keep our reporting open and accessible to everyone because we believe in the power of free information. This is why our small, cost-effective team depends on the support of readers like you to bring deliver timely news, quality analysis, and on-the-ground reports about Russia's war against Ukraine and Ukraine's struggle to build a democratic society. A little bit goes a long way: for as little as the cost of one cup of coffee a month, you can help build bridges between Ukraine and the rest of the world, plus become a co-creator and vote for topics we should cover next. Become a patron or see other ways to support. Become a Patron!
Related Posts