Copyright © 2024

The work of Euromaidan Press is supported by the International Renaissance Foundation

When referencing our materials, please include an active hyperlink to the Euromaidan Press material and a maximum 500-character extract of the story. To reprint anything longer, written permission must be acquired from [email protected].

Privacy and Cookie Policies.

Moldova considers banning Ukrainian grain imports

Moldova considers banning Ukrainian grain imports

The government of Moldova, Ukraine’s neighboring country, is considering joining an EU ban on Ukrainian grain, the Agriculture Minister of Moldova Vladimir Bolea said following today’s meeting with the Ukrainian Minister of Agrarian Policy and Food.

Despite the plans to impose a grain ban on Ukraine, Moldova will allow the transit of Ukrainian food products through its territory, Vladimir Bolea said.

In response to the restrictions imposed by Moldova, Ukraine’s government is preparing a resolution to ban Moldovan imports, Taras Kachka, the Deputy Minister of Economy and Trade Representative of Ukraine, told the Yevropeiska Pravda.

“We have informed the government of Moldova that any restriction imposed by Moldova will be considered an extremely unfriendly step and will entail an immediate ban on all imports from Moldova,” the Ukrainian official said. The introduction of such a ban has already been agreed upon and is being prepared, Taras Kachka assured.

On 6 May 2023, Moldova’s Ministry of Agriculture announced plans to join the EU decision to temporarily ban imports of wheat, corn, rapeseed, and sunflower from Ukraine.

Betrayal in the fields: EU ban on Ukrainian food imports violates treaties, strikes wartime economy

According to Moldova’s Agriculture Minister Vladimir Bolea, there is a significant amount of grain in Moldovan storage facilities, which raises concerns among local farmers about the potential lack of space for the new harvest in Moldova.

According to the State Statistics Service of Ukraine, imports from Moldova to Ukraine amounted to $151 million in 2022. In particular, Ukraine imported fuel ($28 million), wine ($16 million), tanning extracts ($15 million), vegetables and processed vegetables ($16 million), nuts ($15 million), and ferrous metals ($10 million) from Moldova.

On 2 May 2023, the European Commission banned grain imports from Ukraine to five EU countries, namely Poland, Slovakia, Hungary, Bulgaria, and Romania, while ensuring the Ukrainian transit through these countries would continue. The EU ban will remain in effect until 5 June 2023.


You could close this page. Or you could join our community and help us produce more materials like this.  We keep our reporting open and accessible to everyone because we believe in the power of free information. This is why our small, cost-effective team depends on the support of readers like you to bring deliver timely news, quality analysis, and on-the-ground reports about Russia's war against Ukraine and Ukraine's struggle to build a democratic society. A little bit goes a long way: for as little as the cost of one cup of coffee a month, you can help build bridges between Ukraine and the rest of the world, plus become a co-creator and vote for topics we should cover next. Become a patron or see other ways to support. Become a Patron!

To suggest a correction or clarification, write to us here

You can also highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter

Please leave your suggestions or corrections here

    Will the West continue to support Ukraine?
    • Know what moves the world.
    • Premium journalism from across Europe.
    • Tailored to your needs, translated into English.
    Special discount
    for Euromaidan Press readers
    Euromaidan Press

    We are an independent media outlet that relies solely on advertising revenue to sustain itself. We do not endorse or promote any products or services for financial gain. Therefore, we kindly ask for your support by disabling your ad blocker. Your assistance helps us continue providing quality content. Thank you!

    Related Posts