Copyright © 2021

The work of Euromaidan Press is supported by the International Renaissance Foundation

When referencing our materials, please include an active hyperlink to the Euromaidan Press material and a maximum 500-character extract of the story. To reprint anything longer, written permission must be acquired from [email protected].

Privacy and Cookie Policies.

Quarter of EU members officially support Ukraine’s membership as Slovenia signs corresponding declaration

Slovenian prime-minister Janez Janša and Ukrainian president Volodymyr Zelenskyy. Source: Ukrayinska pravda
[editorial]Slovenian Prime Minister Janez Janša and Ukrainian president Volodymyr Zelenskyy have signed a declaration in support of Ukraine’s European prospects during the EU Eastern Partnership Summit that took place in Brussels on 15 December 2021. Therefore, Slovenia becomes the seventh country to openly acknowledge support for Ukraine’s EU membership. [/editorial]

Along with Slovenia, which currently holds the presidency of the Council of the European Union, similar declarations were signed by Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Slovakia, and Croatia. That means already 1/4 of EU member states have openly declared their readiness to accept Ukraine to the European union, Ukraine’s Foreign Minister Dmytro Kuleba notes.

You see how one after another EU leaders sign declarations with our president recognizing the prospects of Ukraine’s membership in the EU. Today, on 15 December, the seventh such declaration was signed with Slovenia. In less than a year we managed to collect a quarter of the votes for Ukraine’s accession to the EU,” Kuleba said.

The aim of Ukraine is to sign similar declaration with all EU states. Zelenskyy has already invited Belgium to become the next country signing the declaration.

Commenting on the events, Ukraine’s Foreign Minister said that Ukraine, Georgia and Moldova should become the next waves of the EU expansion, after the current wave on the Balcans.

Our EU expansion phase will be called the ‘Associated Trio Wave.’ By the way, there have been encouraging signs of a Balkan wave in recent days. The long-running stalemate in the accession talks with Albania and Northern Macedonia has moved forward. This means that the queue is moving, and we are also getting closer to the strategic goal of EU membership for the Associated Trio,” said Kuleba.

The Summit in Brussels was dedicated to the six Eastern Partnership countries — Ukraine, Georgia, Moldova, Armenia, Belarus, and Azerbaijan. As reported earlier, in May 2021, Georgia, Ukraine, and Moldova set up a new format of their collaboration called the Association Trio to coordinate their activities to join the next wave of EU expansion. A corresponding joint declaration was signed by the leaders of three countries on 15 December 2021.

Ukraine, Georgia, Moldova sign joint declaration on coordinating actions to receive EU membership prospects

You could close this page. Or you could join our community and help us produce more materials like this.  We keep our reporting open and accessible to everyone because we believe in the power of free information. This is why our small, cost-effective team depends on the support of readers like you to bring deliver timely news, quality analysis, and on-the-ground reports about Russia's war against Ukraine and Ukraine's struggle to build a democratic society. A little bit goes a long way: for as little as the cost of one cup of coffee a month, you can help build bridges between Ukraine and the rest of the world, plus become a co-creator and vote for topics we should cover next. Become a patron or see other ways to support. Become a Patron!