Copyright © 2024

The work of Euromaidan Press is supported by the International Renaissance Foundation

When referencing our materials, please include an active hyperlink to the Euromaidan Press material and a maximum 500-character extract of the story. To reprint anything longer, written permission must be acquired from [email protected].

Privacy and Cookie Policies.

Ukrainian human rights organization among 2022 Nobel Peace Prize laureates (updated)

Ukrainian human rights organization among 2022 Nobel Peace Prize laureates (updated)

The 2022 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to human rights advocate Ales Bialiatski from Belarus, the Russian human rights organization Memorial, and the Ukrainian human rights organization Center for Civil Liberties, according to the Nobel Prize website.

“The Peace Prize laureates represent civil society in their home countries. They have for many years promoted the right to criticise power and protect the fundamental rights of citizens. They have made an outstanding effort to document war crimes, human right abuses and the abuse of power. Together they demonstrate the significance of civil society for peace and democracy,” according to the Nobel Prize’s press release.

The Center for Civil Liberties (CCL) was established in 2007 to promote human rights values.

“CCL is one of the leading actors in Ukraine, influencing the formation of public opinion and public policy, supporting the development of civic activism, and actively participating in international networks and solidarity actions to promote human rights in the OSCE region,” according to the organization’s website.


“On the one hand, I am pleased with the Nobel Peace Prize for a decent Ukrainian organization, the Center for Civil Liberties. On the other hand, the combination with Belarusians and Russians is inappropriate, because it actualizes the Russian myth of ‘the brotherly three peoples’ which is the basis of the current war against Ukraine,” wrote historian and ex-chair of the Ukrainian Institute of National Memory, Volodymyr Viatrovich.

“I understand that the award is not given to countries, but to people or organizations. But the fact that representatives of Russia, for the second year in a row (and precisely in the year when this country unleashed the largest conflict since the Second World War), received this award isn’t normal,” Viatrovych added.

You could close this page. Or you could join our community and help us produce more materials like this.  We keep our reporting open and accessible to everyone because we believe in the power of free information. This is why our small, cost-effective team depends on the support of readers like you to bring deliver timely news, quality analysis, and on-the-ground reports about Russia's war against Ukraine and Ukraine's struggle to build a democratic society. A little bit goes a long way: for as little as the cost of one cup of coffee a month, you can help build bridges between Ukraine and the rest of the world, plus become a co-creator and vote for topics we should cover next. Become a patron or see other ways to support. Become a Patron!

To suggest a correction or clarification, write to us here

You can also highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter

Please leave your suggestions or corrections here

    Will the West continue to support Ukraine?
    • Know what moves the world.
    • Stay informed with Kompreno.
    • Get quality journalism from across Europe.
    Special discount
    for Euromaidan Press readers
    Euromaidan Press

    We are an independent media outlet that relies solely on advertising revenue to sustain itself. We do not endorse or promote any products or services for financial gain. Therefore, we kindly ask for your support by disabling your ad blocker. Your assistance helps us continue providing quality content. Thank you!

    Related Posts