Copyright © 2021

The work of Euromaidan Press is supported by the International Renaissance Foundation

When referencing our materials, please include an active hyperlink to the Euromaidan Press material and a maximum 500-character extract of the story. To reprint anything longer, written permission must be acquired from [email protected].

Privacy and Cookie Policies.

Mission Accomplished: Visa-free Europe for Georgia | Infographic


Yesterday, it was Georgia’s first day of visa-free travel with the EU. This was a long-awaited event – the International airport in Tbilisi was draped with Georgian and EU flags in celebrations.

Georgia’s path to visa-free travel took 11 years. Establishing a visa-free regime with the EU is a long process and can be divided into seven main stages: negotiations, a Visa Facilitation and Readmission Agreement, Visa Dialogue, Action Plan on Visa Liberalization, European Commission recommends amendments to the Council Regulation, the European Parliament votes, the EU Council of Ministers votes, the decision is published in the EU’s Official Journal.

Of the six Eastern Partnership countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, and Ukraine), only two have succeeded in entering into a visa-free regime with the EU after signing the Visa Facilitation and Readmission Agreement (VFA). Moldova achieved it in 2014 after seven years and Georgia was successful in 2017 after six years.

Ukraine is next in line to enter a visa-free regime with the EU – it is expected that Ukrainians will be able to travel without visas in mid-June 2017.

Read more: Ukrainians to travel visa-free to the EU in mid-June: detailed calendar

Take a look into Georgia’s road to visa-free travel with this infographic by JumpStart Georgia.


Read also:

You could close this page. Or you could join our community and help us produce more materials like this.  We keep our reporting open and accessible to everyone because we believe in the power of free information. This is why our small, cost-effective team depends on the support of readers like you to bring deliver timely news, quality analysis, and on-the-ground reports about Russia's war against Ukraine and Ukraine's struggle to build a democratic society. A little bit goes a long way: for as little as the cost of one cup of coffee a month, you can help build bridges between Ukraine and the rest of the world, plus become a co-creator and vote for topics we should cover next. Become a patron or see other ways to support. Become a Patron!